Multi-agency Thresholds

Thresholds Document

The threshold document sets out the four levels of intervention from Universal Services to Statutory Services and include descriptors for each level. It is very important for children’s services professionals to be familiar with the four levels of need as this will help ensure we all work together effectively to provide the right help at the right time to children and young people.



Thresholds on-a-page

The thresholds can also be downloaded below as two A3 posters – one illustrating the levels and the other illustrating examples of a child’s lived experience at the different levels. These can be printed as helpful posters for display in offices.

Credit card sized threshold indicators for levels 1, 2, 3 and 4:

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Level 4

A 3D ‘Thresholds Pyramid‘ can be downloaded below. When assembled it illustrates each of the 4 levels and sits nicely on your desk.



Tools for Professionals

The WSCP has a published directory of tools available for professionals to use to support assessment of the level of need and appropriate referral for children and young people.

The tools are referred to and explored at the conference workshop.

Click on the link Tools for professionals to access the tools.